Annabel Patterson Prize 

The Annabel Patterson Prize, inaugurated in 2020 in recognition of Annabel Patterson’s outstanding contributions to the study of Marvell in the course of her long career, honours the most distinguished essay published in Marvell Studies in the previous year.

This year’s winner is:

Brendan Prawdzik (Pennsylvania State University), ‘Greenwashing Marvell’ (Marvell Studies 4.1)

Professor Prawdzik’s essay diagnoses the presentist and progressivist leanings of modern ecocriticism and shows how Marvell’s verse, especially the Mower poems and ‘Upon Appleton House’, offers a competing and much less confident portrait of nature. More specifically, Professor Prawdzik argues that Marvell’s poetry sketches a natural world not of human size and, thus, one whose problems are not amenable to humanist solution. Professor Prawdzik’s essay represents, then, an important example of how the historical insights that Marvell’s verse enables alter, or at least should alter, our present political, social, and ethical concepts.

John M. Wallace Award

Every year the Andrew Marvell Society honors an emerging scholar with the John M. Wallace Award, given for the best paper presented by an early career researcher at the Society’s annual meeting. The award recognises the signal contribution to Marvell studies of John M. Wallace (1928-93), Professor of English at the University of Chicago and author of the ground-breaking interdisciplinary work, Destiny his Choice: The Loyalism of Andrew Marvell (1968). The award is open to graduate students, independent scholars, and faculty within five years of completing the doctorate.

This year’s winner is:

Ruby Lowe (NYU),'”A World Within”: Inside Wither, Milton, and Marvell as Dialogic Voice’


Past winners of the John M. Wallace Award:

2020. Felicity Sheehy (University of Cambridge), ‘Andrew Marvell’s “Vegetable Love”‘

2019. Madeline Lesser (University of California, Berkeley), ‘Providence as Autopoesis in Marvell’s First Anniversary

2018. Nadine Weiss (University of Cambridge), ‘Sonnets That Wreathe: Seventeenth-Century Devotional Wreathed Poems and the Case of The Coronet

2017. Kelly Duquette (Emory University), ‘Ashamed and Tamed: Civilizing the Irish in Marvell’s Horatian Ode

2016. Stephanie Coster (University of Leicester), ‘Robert Boulter and the Publication of the Miscellaneous Poems (1681)’

2015. R. H. McConnell (University of Alabama), ‘”According to the Lawes”: Syntactical Problems in Andrew Marvell’s “Daphnis and Chloe”‘

2014. Brett Hudson (Middle Tennessee State University), ‘Marvell’s Satire of Corporal Punishment in the Rehearsal Transpros’d

2013. Matthew C. Augustine (University of St Andrews), ‘Marvell and the Scriblerians’